Nintendo news (December 11): Super Smash Bros. Ultimate / Super Mario 3D World + Bowser’s Fury

Today’s Nintendo news: Sephiroth announced as latest DLC Fighter for Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, but also…

  • Super Mario 3D World + Bowser’s Fury
  • Nintendo Switch sales (United States)
  • Super Mario Bros. Medley
  • Nintendo – Nine Months Earnings Release
  • Indie World

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

Nintendo have revealed the latest DLC fighter for Super Smash Bros. Ultimate: Sephiroth from Final Fantasy VII! It will be released sometime before the end of the month, with the usual showcase with Masahiro Sakurai taking place next week:

  • Europe: December 17th at 11PM
  • UK: December 17th at 10PM
  • North America (ET): December 17th at 6PM
  • North America (PT): December 17th at 3PM
  • Japan: December 18th at 7AM

Here’s the reveal trailer for Sephiroth in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate:

Finally, Nintendo have announced that the next set of amiibo, with Byleth, Terry, and Banjo & Kazooie releasing on March 26th worldwide.

Super Mario 3D World + Bowser’s Fury

Here’s the latest video for Super Mario 3D World + Bowser’s Fury:

Super Mario 3D World + Bowser’s Fury (Switch) comes out on February 12th worldwide.

Nintendo Switch sales (United States)

Nintendo have shared some sales data for the Nintendo Switch in the United States. According to the NPD, the console sold over 1.35 million units in November (OG and Lite models combined), which includes Thanksgiving and Black Friday.

Nintendo point out that it’s the 24th month in a row (two full years!) that the Nintendo Switch has been the best-selling video game consoles in the US. Not even the new PlayStation and Xbox consoles were not able to do better, though it’s likely they would have had Sony and Microsoft been able to ship enough units to retailers.

Nintendo mention that the “new” Black Friday bundle, which includes Mario Kart 8 Deluxe and a Nintendo Switch Online subscription, proved particularly popular.

So far, the Nintendo Switch has sold 6.92 million units in 2020, which is 426 000 units more than through the entirety of 2019. In other words, 2020 is the new peak year for the console!

Source: Nintendo PR

Super Mario Bros. Medley

Here’s the recording of the Super Mario Bros. Medley by the London Philharmonic from the Game Awards 2020:

Nintendo – Nine Months Earnings Release

Nintendo have announced that the Nintendo Months Earnings Release will be on February 1st (again, one week later than usual). The conference call for investors should be on the same day.

Source: Nintendo

Indie World

Here’s an Indie World tribute video show at the Game Awards 2020:

The Upcoming Games page has been updated!


twitterredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some.