PokéNews (June 11): Mewtwo Strikes Back Evolution / Pokémon GO

Today’s Pokémon news: exclusive screening of Mewtwo Strikes Back Evolution at Anime Expo, but also…

  • Pokémon GO
  • Shiny Tapu Fini (Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon)
  • Special Battle Season 16
  • Pokémon Center Osaka DX
  • Pokémon no Uchi Atsumaru?!

Mewtwo Strikes Back Evolution

Yesterday, it was announced that Mewtwo Strikes Back Evolution (the 22nd animated Pokémon movie) is getting an exclusive screening at the Anime Expo 2019 event in July, in Los Angeles.

The two Directors (Kunihiko Yuyama and Motonori Sakakibara) and Rica Matsumoto (who voices Ash / Satoshi in Japanese) will attend this screening, and will participate in autograph sessions.

Here’s when and where this takes place:

  • Date: Thursday, July 4
  • Time: 3:30 PM – 5:45 PM
  • Room: LACC / Main Events (Hall B)

Speaking of Mewtwo Strike Back Evolution, here’s pictures of plushies inspired by the movie, releasing this month in Japan:

Mewtwo Strikes Back Evolution opens on July 12th in Japan.

Source: Anime Expo / Famitsu

Shiny Tapu Fini (Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon)

Heads up to players who took part in the 2019 International Challenge May: if you took part in at least 3 battles, you can now claim your Serial Code for Shiny Tapu Fini. To get it, you first need to log in to the Pokémon Global Link, and then click on this link. You then have until July 30th to redeem that code via the Mystery Gift Menu in Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon.

Here’s details about the Pokémon:

  • Level: 60
  • Moves: Nature’s Madness, Muddy Water, Aqua Ring, Hydro Pump
  • Hold Item: Misty Seed

You can find more details about the various Serial Codes for Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon on this page!

Source: Serebii

Pokémon GO

Global Challenge

Niantic have announced a new Global Challenge, where players have to tackle research tasks around the world and at each of the 3 Pokémon GO Fests event this Summer. Completing those will allow you to unlock various bonuses, that will go live the following weeks. If all 3 teams and the event attendees complete their tasks, then a special bonus Raid Day will also be unlocked. Finally, if all goals are met by the end of Summer, more bonuses will be unlocked!

Spark’s Candy Research Challenge

When?

  • Thursday, June 13th, 2019 at 9AM PT / 12PM ET / 5PM BST / 6PM CEST – June 14th at 1AM JST to June 16th at 5PM PT / 8PM ET – June 17th at 1AM BST / 2AM CEST / 9AM JST

Challenge Research Tasks

  • Pokémon GO Fest Chicago event attendees—Complete 1 million research tasks to unlock 2× Catch Candy
  • Team Instinct—Complete 15 million research tasks globally to unlock guaranteed 1 Rare Candy per raid
  • Team Valor—Complete 15 million research tasks globally to unlock 1/2 Hatch Distance
  • Team Mystic—Complete 15 million research tasks globally to unlock 2× Hatch Candy

Reward bonuses

  • All successfully unlocked bonuses will run from Tuesday, June 18, 2019, at 1PM PT / 4PM ET / 9PM BST / 10PM CEST – June 19th at 5AM JST until Tuesday, June 25, 2019, at 1PM PT / 4PM ET / 9PM BST / 10PM CEST – June 26th 19th at 5AM JST
  • Unlock all the above bonuses, and Raikou will be available in raids for a short period of time (date and time to be announced later). If you’re lucky, you might encounter Shiny Raikou!

Candela’s XP Research Challenge

When?

  • Thursday, July 4th 2019 at 1AM PT / 4AM ET / 9AM BST / 10AM CEST / 5PM JST to July 7th at 9AM PT / 12PM ET / 5PM BST / 6PM CEST – July 8th at 1AM JST

Challenge Research Tasks

  • Pokémon GO Fest Dortmund event attendees—Complete 1 million research tasks to unlock 3× Catch XP
  • Team Instinct—Complete 15 million research tasks globally to unlock 1-hour Lucky Eggs
  • Team Valor—Complete 15 million research tasks globally to unlock 3× Hatch XP
  • Team Mystic—Complete 15 million research tasks globally to unlock 2× Raid XP

Reward bonuses

  • All successfully unlocked bonuses will run from July 19, 2019, at 1PM PT / 4PM ET / 9PM BST / 10PM CEST – July 20th at 5AM JST until July 26th, 2019, at 1PM PT / 4PM ET / 9PM BST / 10PM CEST – July 27th 19th at 5AM JST
  • Unlock all the above bonuses, and Entei will be available in raids Sunday, July 14, 2019 (time to be announced later). If you’re lucky, you might encounter Shiny Entei!

Blanche’s Stardust Research Challenge

When?

  • August 5th at 6PM PT / 9PM ET – August 6th at 2AM BST / 3AM CEST / 9AM JST to August 12th at 1AM PT / 4AM ET / 9AM BST / 10AM CEST / 5PM JST

Challenge Research Tasks

  • Pokémon GO Fest Yokohama event attendees—Complete 2 million research tasks to unlock 3× Catch Stardust
  • Team Instinct—Complete 25 million research tasks globally to unlock guaranteed 3,000 Stardust per raid
  • Team Valor—Complete 25 million research tasks globally to unlock 3× Hatch Stardust
  • Team Mystic—Complete 25 million research tasks globally to unlock 1-hour Star Pieces

Reward bonuses

  • All successfully unlocked bonuses will run from Tuesday, August 13, 2019, at 1PM PT / 4PM ET / 9PM BST / 10PM CEST – August 14th at 5AM JST until Tuesday, August 20, 2019, at 1PM PT / 4PM ET / 9PM BST / 10PM CEST – August 21st at 5AM JST
  • Unlock all the above bonuses, and Suicune will be available in raids on Saturday, August 17, 2019 (time to be announced later). If you’re lucky, you might encounter Shiny Suicune!

Source: Niantic

Niantic Kids

Since yesterday, players who have Niantic Kids accounts can now opt in to various social features, such as Friends, Gifts, Trades, and Trainer Battles. Those can be accessed through the Niantic Parent Portal.

Source: Serebii

Special Battle Season 16

Today, Special Battle Rules for Season 16 in Battle Spot were revealed. Here’s all you need to know:

  • When: June 18th to September 2nd
  • Games: Pokémon Sun and Moon, Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon (separate rankings)
  • Special rules: only Pokémon allowed are those that did not rank in the Top 30 during Season 7 to 15 in Single Battles. Pokémon transferred via Pokémon Bank are allowed
  • Battles: Single (1 Pokémon out of 6 sent to battle)
  • Pokémon banned: Venusaur, Charizard, Cloyster, Gengar, Kangaskhan, Gyarados, Snorlax, Zapdos, Dragonite, Azumarill, Scizor, Skarmory, Porygon2, Tyranitar, Blaziken, Breloom, Mawile, Salamence, Metagross, Garchomp, Lucario, Hippowdon, Gliscor, Mamoswine, Rotom, Heatran, Serperior, Excadrill, Ferrothorn, Hydreigon, Volcarona, Thundurus, Landorus, Greninja, Aegislash, Toxapex, Mimikyu, Tapu Koko, Tapu Lele, Tapu Fini, Celesteela, Kartana, and Naganadel or Mewtwo, Mew, Lugia, Ho-Oh, Celebi, Kyogre, Groudon, Rayquaza, Jirachi, Deoxys, Dialga, Palkia, Giratina, Phione, Manaphy, Darkrai, Shaymin, Arceus, Victini, Reshiram, Zekrom, Kyurem, Keldeo, Meloetta, Genesect, Xerneas, Yveltal, Zygarde, Diancie, Hoopa, Volcanion, Cosmog, Cosmoem, Solgaleo, Lunala, Necrozma, Magearna, Marshadow, Zeraora, and Ash-Greninja.
  • Level: 50 (lowered if above that)
  • Item restrictions: two Pokémon cannot have the same Hold Item

Source: Serebii

Pokémon Center Osaka DX

In September, Japan is getting yet another Pokémon Center store: the Pokémon Center Osaka DX. It will be located in Shinsaibaishi, in Osaka, and will open on September 20th. Just like the Pokémon Center Tokyo DX store, it will have a Pokémon Café.

Here’s some pictures:

Source: Gamer
Via: Serebii

Pokémon no Uchi Atsumaru?!

Here’s the preview for the next episode of Pokémon no Uchi Atsumaru?!, airing this Sunday in Japan:


twittergoogle_plusredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some. Twitter: @lite_agent

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.