Mario Kart TV website to shut down next month

Mario Kart TVMario Kart TV is a service that allows players to upload recordings of Mario Kart 8 races to the internet (including YouTube). Those recordings can then be viewed from within Mario Kart 8, but also via the Mario Kart TV website (which also features various stats, and more). Unfortunately, the website will be shut down next month, on April 5th to be precise (less than two years after its launch).

Here’s the official notice:

The Mario Kart TV website, which lets you watch highlight videos posted from Mario Kart 8, will be closing down as of 07:00 (UK time) / 16:00 (AEST) on Tuesday 5th April 2016. We are very thankful to the many people who have used this website since it launched in 2014.

 

Even after the website shuts down, it will still be possible to watch Mario Kart TV and upload highlights from within Mario Kart 8 itself. Highlight videos uploaded to YouTube from the game will not be deleted after the website shuts down.

The website will be shutdown on April 5th at:

  • Europe: 8AM
  • UK: 7AM
  • North America (ET): 2AM
  • North America (PT): 11PM (April 4th)
  • Japan: 3PM

Unfortunately, Nintendo does not explain why the website will be shut down, but we can imagine it wasn’t popular enough for the company to justify the costs of running it. What’s more, as mentioned in the official notice, replays will still be viewable via Mario Kart 8, and those uploaded on YouTube will remain unaffected. In other words: the Mario Kart TV website shutting down should not impact too many players.

Via: GameMemo


twitterredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.