Fire Emblem Heroes – Grand Conquests: all you need to know [GC #4]

Fire Emblem Heroes – Grand Conquests – Upcoming or current event

The 4th Grand Conquests event for Fire Emblem Heroes will take place from June 26th to July 2nd. There’s several rounds (called Battles), but also preparation periods and more. Here’s the schedule:

  • Pre-Registration: June 24th 12AM PT / 3AM ET / 8AM BST / 9AM CEST / 4PM JST
  • Battle 1 – Battle preparation: June 26th 12AM PT / 3AM ET / 8AM BST / 9AM CEST / 4PM JST
  • Battle 1 – Battle:June 26th 4AM PT / 7AM ET / 12PM BST / 1PM CEST / 8PM JST
  • Battle 2 – Battle preparation: June 28thth 12AM PT / 3AM ET / 8AM BST / 9AM CEST / 4PM JST
  • Battle 2 – Battle: June 28th 4AM PT / 7AM ET / 12PM BST / 1PM CEST / 8PM JST
  • Battle 3 – Battle preparation: June 30th 12AM PT / 3AM ET / 8AM BST / 9AM CEST / 4PM JST
  • Battle 3 – Battle: June 30th 4AM PT / 7AM ET / 12PM BST / 1PM CEST / 8PM JST
  • End: July 2nd 11.59PM PT / July 3rd 2.59AM ET / 7.59AM BST / 8.59AM CEST / 3.59PM JST

Fire Emblem Heroes – Grand Conquests – GC Tiers and Rewards

The more battles you take part in, the more points you get, which then allows you to move up the GC Tiers. Once you reach a specific GC Tier, you get some rewards: bonus Orbs, Refining Stones, and more. You also get a special bonus that will help your army get more points. There’s 25 tiers in total, and they do not reset between each Battle. Tier 4 and 8 unlock Lunatic and Infernal modes, respectively.

You also get rewards at the end of each Battle, based on the number of Areas your Army has conquered. You can get Hero Feathers, Sacred Coins, and Arena Medals. Simply head over to “Check Rewards” to find them!

Here’s the list of rewards:

And here’s the Rank in Army rewards: coming soon.

Finally, there’s also Grand Conquests Quests to tackle, in order to earn Orbs, Universal Shards, and Hero Feathers. Each Battle has its own set of Quests, and you can find more details about those on the Events and Content Updates page!

Fire Emblem Heroes – Grand Conquests – Changes for this event

This event introduces a new feature: the Rank in Army. Basically, it allows players within an army to compete in order to try and earn the highest score possible. The higher your score, the higher your ranking. The higher your ranking, the more Hero Feathers you get as a reward! You get your reward at the end of each battle, and your score/rank is reset between battles.

Also, the starting score for conquered area will vary depending on the number of areas your army has conquered. The less areas under your control, the higher the starting score of said areas, making them easier to defend!

Area count 9 or higher: 5 000
Area count 7 or 8: 7 500
Area count 5 or 6: 10 000
Area count 3 or 4: 12 500
Area count 2 or lower: 15 000

Fire Emblem Heroes – Grand Conquests – What is it?

You can access Grand Conquests from the Home Menu > Battle > Events > Grand Conquests.

Grand Conquests is a new type of event where three armies, led by Anna, Sharena, and Alfonse, battle to take control of territory. Just like in Rival Domains, you lead a brigade, but this time around your goal is to conquer as many areas as possible within the time limit. Each battle lasts 2 days (44 hours to be precise + 4h preparation period), and is made of 22 rounds that all last 2h.

Players are automatically assigned to battlefields (basically, servers), and then to one of the 3 Armies. Each battlefield can only accomodate 200 troops per army, so 600 players (though that number may vary). The army you’ve been assigned to change at every Battle, just like the area maps.

FEH Grand Conquests 1

Fire Emblem Heroes – Grand Conquests – How does it work?

Before every Battle, you have to create a Brigade, just like in Rival Domains. You do so by tapping the Edit Brigades option in the Allies menu. You need to have 20 Heroes in your Brigade. Enemy brigades have 40 Heroes.

If you don’t have enough Heroes, you can do the following:

  • select Friends’ Allies, and add your friends’ Heroes
  • do nothing, and let the game fill up the rest of the Brigade with Reinforcements (Heroes who are fighting in the same army as you during the event)

Fire Emblem Heroes Grand Conquests 2

Once you’re ready for battle, you have to select an area and deploy your Brigade. You can only do so into areas that border your army and your opponent’s army… no sneaking deep into enemy territory allowed! You can see the current battle conditions in a given area by selecting it.

Fire Emblem Heroes Grand Conquests 3

If you’re not sure which area to fight in, then you should choose the one with the “Try this!” icon above it. You can also choose one with area effects on adjacent territory, because if you manage to conquer it, it will help your army by activating those effects for you and your allies.

Area effects grant special effects to specific unit types. For example, an area effect can allow armoured units to move an extra space. Make sure to take advantage of those by sending the right units to the right area! Speaking of effects, there’s also a common effect on all areas during each of the 3 battles!

Fire Emblem Heroes Grand Conquests 4

Fire Emblem Heroes Grand Conquests 5

When a round begins, the army that controls an area begins with 5 000 points, while the armies trying to conquer it starts with… 0. There’s two ways to conquer an area:

  • Knockout: if an army’s score exceeds the second place army’s by 100 000 points in a given area, that army conquers the area and keeps it until the end of the round.  It’s extremely hard to pull off!
  • Taking the Lead: at the end of each 2h round, the army with the most points conquers the area

Important note: the points accrued in an area reflect the accumulated battle results of Grand Conquests participants. Therefore, you have to pay attention to where your allies are fighting when you have to decide which area you should battle in. After all, the more players have taken part in battle in a given area, the more points you can get.

Of course, if everyone battles in the same area, you take the risk of losing undefended areas… You have to find the right balance, and spread your units accordingly! It’s up to you to decide whether you want to aim for the highest score in one area, or instead try to win in many different areas (less points for each area, but more areas to get points from).

Also, the Starting Score for a given area depends on the total of areas controlled by the army currently in control of the area (less areas controlled = higher Starting Score):

  • Area count 9 or higher: 5 000
  • Area count 7 or 8: 7 500
  • Area count 5 or 6: 10 000
  • Area count 3 or 4: 12 500
  • Area count 2 or lower: 15 000

One thing to keep in mind is that deploying units costs stamina, and more precisely Grand Conquests-specific stamina. You get 1 Stamina unit per hour, and you can have up to 8 units at a given time. You can also use a Conquest Lance to restore your stamina.

Deploying units costs 1 Stamina unit, but you can also use several of them in order to boost your score (the more units you use, the bigger the boost. For example: 2 units = x2 boost).

But how do individual battles work, exactly? Well, pretty much the same way as in Rival Domains! You play on a large map, and you have to capture the enemy’s fortress and camps. There’s two ways the battle can end:

  • an army’s fortress is destroyed
  • the 10th turn concludes

The score you get in a given area depends on the following criteria:

  • Foes defeated: the more foes you defeat, the higher your score!
  • Camps held: you get points based on the number of camps you hold at the end of the battle;
  • Fortress Defense: you get points based on how well you defended your fortress;
  • Fortress Offense: you get points based on how effectively you attacked your opponent’s fortress.

If you’re really too busy to play, you can select “Help Out!” once per round. When you do so, points will be given to the area you support, and increases the count of units in battle in that area by 1). You can still earn items that way!

Also, if you’re up for a challenge, you can select the Lunatic and Infernal modes, unlocked when you reach GC Tier 4 and 8 respectively.

Finally, there’s the Rank in Army. Basically, it allows players within an army to compete in order to try and earn the highest score possible. The higher your score, the higher your ranking. The higher your ranking, the more Hero Feathers you get as a reward! You get your reward at the end of each battle, and your score/rank is reset between battles.

Fire Emblem Heroes – Grand Conquests – Previous events

Source: Fire Emblem Heroes


twittergoogle_plusredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some. Twitter: @lite_agent