Tetris 99: Online Events [August 2020]

Tetris 99 offers a “Battle Royale” spin to Tetris, the most famous puzzle game of all times. It’s available for free to all Nintendo Switch Online subscribers. In order to make sure players keep playing (and keep renewing their Nintendo Switch Online subscription), Nintendo is planning to host various Online Events, with prizes for the top players to win.

On this page, you will find all there is to know about the various Online Events for Tetris 99 (when they are taking place, which prizes you can win, etc.), so that you can keep track of them. It will be updated regularly, as new events are announced!

Tetris 99 – Current or Ongoing Online Events

August 14th

The 16th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #16, and it’s a re-run of past Events, allowing players to get their hands on special themes they may have missed!

  • When: August 14th to August 23rd
    • Animal Crossing: New Horizons – August 14th to August 17th
    • Luigi’s Mansion 3 – August 17th to August 20th
    • Ring Fit Adventure – August 20th to August 23rd
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: collect as many Event Points as you can
  • Prize: collect 50 points and get a special theme as reward!
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

Tetris 99 – Past Online Events

March 8th

The first Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #1.

  • When: March 8th (5AM PT / 8AM ET / 1PM GMT / 2PM CET / 10PM JST) to March 10th (11.59PM PT) / March 11th (2.59AM ET, 7.59AM GMT / 8.59AM CET / 3.59PM JST)
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: get 1st place as many time as you can while the event is live (you’ll see TETRIS MAXIMUS on the results screen when you do)
  • Prize: 999 Gold Coins (My Nintendo, worth 9.99€ / $9.99 / 999 Yen) for the Top 999 players
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

April 12th

The second Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #2.

  • When: April 12th (6AM PT / 9AM ET / 2PM GMT / 3PM CET / 10PM JST) to April 14th (11.59PM PT) / April 15th (2.59AM ET, 7.59AM GMT / 8.59AM CET / 3.59PM JST)
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: earn points every time you place 80th or higher. You get 1 draw ticket for every 100 points you get. The more draw tickets you have, the more chances you have of winning
  • Prize: 999 Gold Coins (My Nintendo, worth 9.99€ / $9.99 / 999 Yen) for 999 players
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

May 17th

The third Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #3.

  • When: May 17th (12AM PT / 3AM ET / 8AM BST / 9AM CEST / 4PM JST) to May 19th (11.59PM PT) / May 20th (2.59AM ET, 7.59AM BST / 8.59AM CEST / 3.59PM JST)
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: compete in online battles and collect at least 100 event points to unlock an in-game theme inspired by the original Game Boy game
    • 1st = 100 points
    • 2nd = 50 points
    • 3rd = 30 points
    • 4th – 10th = 20 points
    • 11th – 30th = 10 points
    • 31st – 50th = 5 points
    • 51st – 80th = 2 points
    • 81st – 99th = 0 points
  • Prize: in-game theme inspired by the original Game Boy game
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

June 21st

The 4th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #4.

  • When: June 21st (12AM PT / 3AM ET / 8AM BST / 9AM CEST / 4PM JST) to June 23rd (11.59PM PT) / June 24th (2.59AM ET, 7.59AM BST / 8.59AM CEST / 3.59PM JST)
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: compete in online battles and collect as many event points as possible.
    • 1st = 100 points
    • 2nd = 50 points
    • 3rd = 30 points
    • 4th – 10th = 20 points
    • 11th – 30th = 15 points
    • 31st – 50th = 10 points
    • 51st – 90th = 5 points
    • 91st – 99th = 1 points
  • Prize: 999 Gold Coins (effectively worth 9.99€ / $9.99 / 999 Yen) for the Top 999 players
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

July 12th

The 5th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #5, and it’s a special collaboration with Splatoon 2 (due to the Final Fest).

  • When: July 12th (12AM PT / 3AM ET / 8AM BST / 9AM CEST / 4PM JST) to July 16th (11.59PM PT) / June 24th (2.59AM ET, 7.59AM BST / 8.59AM CEST / 3.59PM JST)
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: compete in online battles and collect as many event points as possible.
  • Prize: Splatoon 2 Theme for players who get at least 100 points during the event (the same one that will be active during the event)
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

August 23rd

The 6th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #6, and it’s a special collaboration with Fire Emblem: Three Houses.

  • When: August 23rd (12AM PT / 3AM ET / 8AM BST / 9AM CEST / 4PM JST) to August 26th (11.59PM PT) / August 27th (2.59AM ET, 7.59AM BST / 8.59AM CEST / 3.59PM JST)
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: compete in online battles and collect as many event points as possible.
  • Prize: Fire Emblem: Three Houses Theme for players who get at least 100 points during the event (the same one that will be active during the event)
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

September 20th

The 7th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #7, and it’s a special collaboration with Super Kirby Clash.

  • When: September 20th (12AM PT / 3AM ET / 8AM BST / 9AM CEST / 4PM JST) to September 23rd (11.59PM PT) / September 24th (2.59AM ET, 7.59AM BST / 8.59AM CEST / 3.59PM JST)
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: compete in online battles and collect as many event points as possible.
  • Prize: Kirby Theme for players who get at least 100 points during the event (the same one that will be active during the event) + 99 Gem Apples for Super Kirby Clash
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

October 25th

The 8th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #8, and it’s a special collaboration with Luigi’s Mansion 3.

  • When: October 25th to October 29th
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: compete in online battles and collect as many event points as possible.
  • Prize: Luigi’s Mansion 3 Theme for players who get at least 100 points during the event (the same one that will be active during the event)
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

November 8th

The 9th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #9, and it’s a special collaboration with Pokémon Sword and Shield.

  • When: November 8th to November 12th
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: compete in online battles and collect as many event points as possible.
  • Prize: Pokémon Sword and Shield Theme for players who get at least 100 points during the event (the same one that will be active during the event)
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

December 13th

The 10th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #10, and it’s the first one using the new Team Battle Mode!

  • When: December 13th to December 17th
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: compete in Team Battle Mode battles and collect as many event points as possible.
  • Prize: the Top 999 players will each win 999 Gold Points
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

January 31st

The 11th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #11, and it will allow 999 lucky players to get 999 Gold Coins as reward!

  • When: January 31st to February 4th
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: collect as many points as possible
  • Prize: 999 players selected at random from among those who earn at least 100 points during the event will each win 999 Gold Points
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

April 24th

The 12th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #12, and it will allow players to unlock a Ring Fit Adventure theme!

  • When: April 24th to April 28th
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: collect as many Event Points as you can
  • Prize: collect 100 points and get a Ring Fit Adventure Theme as reward!
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

May 15th

The 13th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #13, and it will allow players to unlock an Animal Crossing: New Horizons theme!

  • When: May 15th to May 18th 2020
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: collect as many Event Points as you can
  • Prize: collect 100 points and get an Animal Crossing: New Horizons Theme as reward!
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

July 31st

The 15th Online Event for Tetris 99 is the Maximus Cup (North America) / Grand Prix (Europe) / Teto Cup (Japan) #15, and it will allow players to unlock a Paper Mario: Origami King theme!

  • When: July 31st to August 4th 2020
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: collect as many Event Points as you can
  • Prize: collect 100 points and get a Paper Mario: The Origami King Theme as reward!
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

August 14th

  • When: August 14th to August 23rd
    • Animal Crossing: New Horizons – August 14th to August 17th
    • Luigi’s Mansion 3 – August 17th to August 20th
    • Ring Fit Adventure – August 20th to August 23rd
  • Regions: all
  • Goal: collect as many Event Points as you can
  • Prize: collect 50 points and get a special theme as reward!
  • Official website: Europe / North America / Japan

Source: Nintendo


twitterredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some. Twitter: @lite_agent

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.