PokéNews (May 29): Pokémon Detective Pikachu / Pokémon GO

Today’s Pokémon news: interview and preview page for the Pokémon Detective Pikachu graphic novel, but also…

  • Pokémon GO
  • Pokémon Trading Card Game
  • LINE
  • Pokémon no Uchi Atsumaru?!

Pokémon Detective Pikachu

The Pokémon Company have shared an interview with the creators of the Pokémon Detective Pikachu graphic novel: Brian Buccellato (writer), Jann Jones (manager of brand development and publishing operations at Legendary Comics), and Nelson Dániel (artist).

Here’s some excerpts:

Brian Buccellato

Pokemon.com: What were the challenges of writing “dialogue” for characters that don’t talk?
Buccellato: It’s no challenge at all. They can’t talk! Seriously, though, there was some challenge in translating their actions-without-words into static images on the page. But Jann—who knows everything about Pokémon—was super helpful in guiding me and pointing out what parts I could cut or combine to save panels and pages.

Jann Jones

Pokemon.com: How closely does the graphic novel adaptation stick to the movie’s script?
Jann Jones: We are really lucky to have the filmmakers in the same building as the editorial team, so we have been able to keep the graphic novel adaptation and the script closely aligned.

Nelson Daniel

Pokemon.com: When drawing a comic adaptation of a movie, do you try to draw the panels in such a way that you replicate the look of the film (via camera angles, etc.), or do you try to give the comic a unique look and feel?
Dániel: Movies and comics are brothers, but they are also independent. We have incredible references from the film at our disposal, and of course, we take some. But we’re building a comic, so the final decisions have to do with the language of comics and how things look on the page.

Click here to check out the full interview!

Finally, here’s a preview page from the graphic novel:

The Pokémon Detective Pikachu graphic novel comes out on July 23rd!

Pokémon GO

To coincide with the announcement of Pokémon Sleep at the Pokémon 2019 Press Conference, a new event went live in Pokémon GO. It features one sleepy Pokémon: Snorlax, who will know the move “Yawn” if caught during the event!

Here’s the features of this event:

  • Trainers will have the chance to encounter Snorlax snoozing in the wild.
  • Once caught, Snorlax will be awake and ready for battle as usual.
  • Remember to take a photo during your encounter as Snorlax will only be asleep during your encounter!
  • Snorlax caught during the event will know the exclusive event move Yawn.

This event runs until June 3rd at 1PM PT / 4PM ET / 9PM BST / 10PM CEST – June 4th at 5AM JST.

Source: Niantic

Pokémon Trading Card Game

The Pokémon Company have revealed two Ultra Rare cards from the upcoming Miracle Twin set for the Pokémon Trading Card Game in Japan (releasing on May 30th):

Source: The Pokémon Company

LINE

Yesterday, a new set of Pokémon stickers was released on LINE. It’s called UTGP 2019 Pokémon, with stickers featuring designs by the participants of the contest. It’s available for free: all you have to do is add Uniqlo Grand Prix 2019 as a friend on LINE.

Here’s what the stickers look like:

Source: Serebii

Pokémon no Uchi Atsumaru?!

Here’s the preview for the next episode of Pokémon no Uchi Atsumaru?!, airing this Sunday in Japan:


twitterredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some. Twitter: @lite_agent

Leave a Reply