Dr. Mario World to be discontinued on November 1st

Launched on July 10th 2019 and co-developed by LINE and NHN, Dr. Mario World is the latest game in the Dr. Mario series. Unfortunately, if you want to play it, you don’t have much time left to do so: Nintendo have announced that it will be discontinued on November 1st.

The writing has been on the wall for quite some time: it’s been months since the last Doctors and Assistants were added, and while the game has been getting weekly updates, it’s been the same kind of events over and over again. It was only a matter of time until Nintendo pulled the plug.

Dr. Mario World will be discontinued on November 1st, at the usual update time:

  • Europe: 7AM
  • UK: 6AM
  • North America (ET): 1AM
  • North America (PT): 10PM (October 31st)
  • Japan: 3PM

Also, starting today, you can no longer purchase Diamonds in-game. If you’ve purchased any, make sure to use them before the game is discontinued! Also, make sure to check out the Events and Content Updates page to find out about the various events and special offers running until November 1st!

Once the game has been discontinued, a service called Dr. Mario World Memories will launch: it’s a web page displaying your player history (based on a portion of your player history). If you don’t want your data to be saved on the server, you have to delete your save data (which can be done by selecting Delete Save Data in the options).

Unfortunately, Nintendo are not planning to make the game playable offline (which is becoming increasingly common for mobile game, though still far from the norm).

Source: Nintendo


twitterredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some.