Nintendo news (March 21st): Nintendo 3DS patent case win / Hero of Time (Ocarina of Time arrange album)

Today’s Nintendo news: Nintendo wins a patent case regarding the 3D technology of the Nintendo 3DS, but also…

  • Hero of Time (The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time arrange album)

Nintendo 3DS patent case

Back in 2011, Seijiro Tomita sued Nintendo for infringing a patent with the glass-free 3D screen of the Nintendo 3DS. The company was ordered to pay $30.2 million in damages in 2013, though that amount was later reduced to $15.1 million because the initial figure was judged “intrinsically excessive” and “unsupported by the evidence presented at trial.”

But Nintendo wasn’t satisfied with that, and pursued the matter in court, seeking a complete acquittal. In April 2016, the New York Federal Court ruled that Nintendo did not infringe Seijiro Tomita’s patent. And last week, a United States Appeals Court confirmed that ruling, and confirmed that the “Nintendo 3DS includes technology that is significantly different from the patented technology”.

In the press release celebrating this ruling, Nintendo specifies that Seijiro Tomita tried to enforce a similar patent in Japan, but ultimately failed there, too. In other words, this looks like the end for the legal troubles regarding the 3D screen of the Nintendo 3DS… for now, at least.

Source: Nintendo PR

Hero of Time

Hero of Time is the title of an arrange album from the Materia Collective, featuring orchestral arrangements of music from The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. If you’re interested (and didn’t back the album on Kickstarter), you can now pre-order it from the following stores:

Here’s the full tracklist of the album:

01. Hero of Time
02. The Man with Evil Eyes
03. Fateful Morning
04. Hyrule Field
05. Castle Town Market
06. Princess Zelda
07. Lon Lon Ranch
08. Dungeon Dwellers
09. The Legendary Blade
10. Seven Years
11. Sheik
12. Memories of the Forest
13. Feast for the Fire Dragon
14. Dark Waters
15. Village of the Shadows
16. Spirit of the Valley
17. Courage, Wisdom, and Light
18. Ganon’s Tower
19. Great King of Evil
20. The Desecration of Power
21. Epilogue ~ End Credits

Click here to learn more about it! The album will be released on March 27th.



Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.