Indie news (May 10): Wargroove / Shovel Knight: Specter of Torment

Today’s Indie news: latest devblog post for Wargroove, but also…

  • Shovel Knight: Specter of Torment
  • NBA Playgrounds
  • Petite Games

Wargroove

Today, the developers of Wargroove posted the latest devblog post for the game, which happens to be about palette swapping / colour swap. It’s actually one of the oldest tricks in the book (who doesn’t remember those enemies in NES game that became stronger as they changed colour, for example?), but in modern games, it’s not nearly as straightforward as you’d think.

The blog post goes over the techniques used for palette swapping in Wargroove, in order to save video memory and bandwidth, and have units with different team palettes and skin colours… with no extra work involved!

Click here to check it out!

Wargroove (Switch – eShop) will be released later this year in Europe and North America.

Shovel Knight: Specter of Torment

In order to celebrate the release of Shovel Knight: Specter of Torment, Yacht Club Games are hosting a fan art contest, that runs from May 9th to May 23rd. Naturally, the theme of the contest is Specter of Torment!

Here’s everything you could win by participating:

1 Grand Prize Package

  • A copy of Shovel Knight for all platforms available in your region
  • 2 Shovel Knight amiibo, so you don’t have to share with your friend!
  • Plushes of Shovel Knight, Shield Knight, Plague Knight, and the Troupple King
  • A Shovel Knight Vinyl!
  • Shovel Knight CD OST
  • A poster signed by Yacht Club Games!
  • A foam Shovel Blade!
  • A T-shirt in your size!
  • A bottle opener, a belt, pins, a wallet, magnets, or whatever else we have lying around!

3 Runner Up Prize Packages

  • 1 copy of Shovel Knight for whatever platform you choose!
  • 1 Shovel Knight amiibo! Sorry, you have to share with a friend.
  • A poster signed by Yacht Club Games!
  • A T-shirt in your size!
  • Shovel Knight CD OST
  • A bottle opener, a belt, pins, a wallet, or whatever else we have lying around!

10 Consolation Prize Packages

  • 1 copy of Shovel Knight for whatever platform you choose!
  • A T-shirt in your size!
  • Shovel Knight CD OST
  • pins, or whatever else we have lying around!

You have until May 23rd (12AM EST / 5AM BST / 6AM CEST) / May 22nd (9PM PST) to send your entry. Click here for more details, and here for the rules!

NBA Playgrounds

Here’s the launch trailer for NBA Playgrounds on Nintendo Switch, now available in Europe and North America:

Petite Games

Here’s one more screenshot for Petite Games’ next game:

Source: Petite Games


twittergoogle_plusredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some. Twitter: @lite_agent

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.