Splatoon: the 9th Splatfest for Europe takes place today

Splatfest are special 24 hour long events that take place regularly in Splatoon. During those, players have to answer a question (like “Do you prefer cats or dogs?”), before joining a team depending on their answer. At the end of each Splatfest, the team with the most points win, based on popularity and number of battles won.

Europe

Today, Nintendo announced that the 9th Splatfest for Europe (the first one for 2016!) would take place on January 1st. The theme is once again completely different from the Japanese and North Amerian Splatfest: “Would you rather be Fit or Rich?”. With New Year next week, this theme is quite topical!

Splatfest EU 9This Splatfest will start on January 1st, at:

  • Europe: 7PM
  • UK: 6PM
  • North America (ET): 1PM
  • North America (PT): 10AM
  • Japan: 3AM (January 3rd)

As usual, this Splatfest is only for players with the European copy of Splatoon.

North America

The 8th Splatfest took place last week in North America, and Nintendo warned players: they have only one week to get their Super Sea Snails. And there’s a good reason for that: the 9th Splatfest will take place next week-end! The Squid Research Lab announced that it would take place on December 18-19th, only two weeks after the last one.

Since this Splatfest will take place one week before Christmas, its theme is obviously Christmas-related: “Have you been Naughty or Nice this year?”. In the world of Splatoon, Turf Wars are quite simply central to the lifestyle of Inklings. It looks like this applies even to Christmas, and Naughty Inklings can still get presents if they’ve been naughty… as long as they win enough matches, that is!

♫You better spray ink,
You better really try.
If your team loses,
You might cry:

 

Splatfest is coming to town!
Splatfest is coming to town!
Splatfest is coming to town!

 

We’re making a list,
We’re checking it twice.
Visit the plaza and vote
Who’s naughty or nice.
Splatfest is coming to town!
Splatfest is coming to town!
Splatfest is coming to town!♫
Pull out your parkas and get ready for the hottest Winter Splatfest! Beginning tomorrow, head to the Inkopolis Plaza and let us know which list you’re on: Naughty or Nice!
Also, please tell all your friends to pick up their Super Sea Snails from the Burger vs Pizza Splatfest today! You need to pick them up before voting starts for the Naughty vs Nice Splatfest!

Splatfest NA 9This Splatfest will start at:

  • North America (EDT): 12AM (December 19th)
  • North America (PDT): 9PM (December 18th)
  • Europe: 6AM (December 19th)
  • UK: 5AM (December 19th)
  • Japan: 1PM (December 19th)

As usual, this one is only for players with a North American copy of Splatoon.

Japan

Today, the Squid Research Lab announced that the 9th Splatfest for Japan would take place on December 26-27. Its theme is actually a re-run of a previous Splatfest: “Which do you prefer: Akai Kitsune (a brand of Udon) or Midori no Tanuki (a brand of Soba)? The first time, it’s Team Akai Kitsune who won, but will the outcome be different this time around?

Splatfest JP 9This Splatfest will start at:

  • Japan: 9AM
  • Europe: 1AM
  • UK: 12AM
  • North America (ET): 7PM (December 25th)
  • North America (PT): 4PM (December 25th)

As usual, this one is only for players with a Japanese copy of Splatoon.

Here’s an artwork of Marie and Callie:

Source: Nintendo


twitterredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.