PokéNews (May 15) – Pokémon: Twilight Wings / Pokémon Trading Card Game

Today’s Pokémon news: latest episode of Pokémon: Twilight Wings coming next month, but also…

  • Pokémon Trading Card Game
  • Play! Pokémon Players Cup

Pokémon: Twilight Wings

The Pokémon Company previously announced that a new episode of the Pokémon: Twilight Wings web anime series will go live every month, but unfortunately, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, there will not be one in May. The next episode (the 5th one) has been delayed, and will now go live on June 4th/5th:

  • Europe: June 5th at 7AM
  • UK: June 5th at 6AM
  • North America (ET): June 5th at 1AM
  • North America (PT): June 4th at 10PM
  • Japan: June 5th at 2PM

Source: The Pokémon Company (Twitter)

Pokémon Trading Card Game

Here’s the latest promo video for the Pokémon Trading Card Game in Japan:

Play! Pokémon Players Cup

Earlier this year, The Pokémon Company announced that all Pokémon competitive events were cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic. But that doesn’t mean players will not have the opportunity to test their skills against other players, as The Pokémon Company have announced the Play! Pokémon Players Cup, an online tournament.

It will have two stages:

  • In July, eligible players will compete in a double-elimination bracket, broken down by rating zones, to determine the top players in each rating zone
  • In August, those top finishers will face off in the final stage of the Pokémon Players Cup, when the winner will be crowned as the champion of the Pokémon Players Cup and earn a Travel Award to a future International Championships event.

That online tournament is for competitors in the Master Divisions for the Pokémon TCG, Pokkén Tournament DX, and Pokémon Sword and Shield games. Here’s how the qualification process will work:

  • Pokémon TCG: through their ranking on the June Leaderboard (Standard format, Tournament Rep) in the Pokémon Trading Card Game Online;
  • Pokémon Sword and Shield: through the International Challenge May Online Competition, which runs from May 21 to 24, 2020;
  • Pokkén Tournament DX: direct registration at a later date.

Each competition will kick off with a special invitational event.

Check out this page for more details!


twitterredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some. Twitter: @lite_agent

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.