Nintendo news (March 30): Super Mario Odyssey / Dragon Quest Builders

Today’s Nintendo news: new special outfits now available in Super Mario Odyssey, but also…

  • Dragon Quest Builders
  • Splatoon 2
  • ARMS
  • Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia

Super Mario Odyssey

With Ver. 1.2.0, Nintendo added some special pieces of Hint Arts, that are not available in-game but are instead shared via social networks (but also the News feature on Nintendo Switch). But it looks like it wasn’t the only surprise that was added! Yesterday, two more special outfits were added to the game:

  • Satellaview Suit & Helmet 
  • Baseball Uniform & Batting Helmet

You can get both from any good Crazy Cap store, but only after you’ve completed the main story. Obviously, you will need to part with (many) coins in order to get all 4 parts!

Here’s what the new outfits look like:

Source: Nintendo (Twitter)

Dragon Quest Builders

Earlier this week, Nintendo shared a pretty lengthy (but extremely interesting!) interview of Noriyoshi Fujimoto, producer of Dragon Quest Builders. The interview covers many topics, such as the story, the building gameplay, music, and much more.

Here’s an excerpt:

Theresa:

This game takes place in the world of Alefgard—the setting of the very first game in the Dragon Quest series. Why did your team decide to return to this important location in the Dragon Quest franchise?

Fujimoto-san:

We felt the objectives and setting of the game would be intuitive if the world from the first Dragon Quest had fallen into ruin, and you were tasked with recreating it as you saw fit.

The final boss of the first Dragon Quest, Dragonlord, has a famous line, “I give thee now a chance to share this world and to rule half of it if thou will now stand beside me.”

If you answered “Yes,” the world would fall into darkness. Game over. But Dragon Quest Builders takes that world clad in darkness and allows you to rebuild it as you see fit. This game challenged us to create an alternative, hypothetical world, one that progressed differently in important ways.

Also, we used graph paper when we were creating the 2D pixel tiles of Alefgard’s geography in the original Dragon Quest game. So, in a way, Dragon Quest Builders revives the original game world with both 2D and 3D blocks, and we hope everyone will play this reborn vision of Dragon Quest.

Click here to check out the full interview!

Splatoon 2

Yesterday, the Squid Research Lab shared some pictures of more Splatoon 2 toys from Bandai. This time, we have Squid figures and… Curling Bombs!

Here’s what they look like:

Source: Squid Research Lab (Twitter)

ARMS

Nintendo has revealed the 8 players that will take part in the Finale of the ARMS US & Canada Online Open:

The intense battles will be livestreamed on the official website, and will take place on March 31st from 10AM PST / 1PM EST / 6PM BST / 7PM CEST / 2AM JST.

Source: Nintendo (Twitter)

Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia

Here’s preview pages for the Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia – Memorial Book: Valentia Accordeon book, now available in Japan:

Source: Nintendo Dream


twitterredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some. Twitter: @lite_agent

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.