E3 2017: more details about the Splatoon 2 World Inkling Invitational and the ARMS Open Invitational

A few weeks ago, Nintendo announced that tournaments for ARMS and Splatoon 2 would be held at E3 2017:

  • the 2017 ARMS Open Invitational
  • the 2017 Splatoon 2 World Inkling Invitational

And today, Nintendo sent a press release to share more details about both tournaments, which will be streamed live on YouTube and Twitch straight from the Nintendo showfloor at E3 2017 (with Jordan Kent, Ashley Esqueda, and Eric Smith commenting for Splatoon 2, and D1 and VikkiKitty commenting for ARMS).

2017 Splatoon 2 World Inkling Invitational

The 2017 Splatoon 2 World Inkling Invitational will take place on June 13th, from:

  • Europe: 11.30PM
  • UK: 10.30PM
  • North America (EST): 5.30PM
  • North America (PST): 2.30PM
  • Japan: 6.30AM (June 14th)

Four team from four different regions (who won tournaments held in their own region) will compete:

  • “Deadbeat” from the United States
  • “Dynameu” from Japan
  • “Rising Moon” from Europe
  • “Blue Ringed Octolings”

Here’s how the tournament will be held:

Teams will battle in a round-robin Turf War tournament that will decide seeding for the next round. All teams will play one another and get a chance to scope out their opponents’ strengths and weaknesses. In the next round, teams will battle in the game’s Ranked Battle modes. The semifinal stage will be a best-of-five battle, while the championship will be best-of-seven.

The winner will receive a Splatoon 2 trophy, with their names engraved on it.

Prior to E3, Nintendo will also upload video highlighting tactics, strategies, and storylines behind competitive Splatoon play.

Splatoon 2 (Switch) will be released on July 21st worldwide.

2017 ARMS Open Invitational

The 2017 ARMS Open Invitational will take place on June 14th from:

  • Europe: 12.30AM (June 15th)
  • UK: 11.30PM
  • North America (EST): 6.30PM
  • North America (PST): 3.30PM
  • Japan: 7.30AM (June 15th)

This tournament will put four competitive gamers from the fighting game community against E3 attendees who qualify during the event (qualification rounds to be held between 10AM and 1PM on June 14th).

The following pro players are competing:

  • Alex Valle (Street Fighter player)
  • Kelsy Medeiros, aka SuperGirlKels (Super Smash Bros. for Wii U player, from Canada)
  • Daniel “Tafokints” Lee (Super Smash Bros. player)
  • Marie-Laure “Kayane” Norindr (Super Smash Bros. player, from France)

ARMS (Switch) will be released on June 16th worldwide.

Source: Nintendo PR


twitterredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.