Nintendo Switch: global presentation set for January 12th/13th (price, launch date), hands-on events

Update: Nintendo just announced the time of the presentation (to be livestreamed on the official website):

  • Europe: 5AM (January 13th)
  • UK: 4AM (January 13th)
  • North America (ET): 11PM (January 12th)
  • North America (PT): 8PM (January 12th)
  • Japan: 1PM (January 13th)

Source: Nintendo

***

Last week, Nintendo finally revealed its brand new gaming platform: the Nintendo Switch (previously known as NX). The company did so via a 3 minute-long preview video that certainly manages to convey what the system is all about (being able to play console games wherever you want).

But at the same time, it doesn’t tell us much about it, and players still don’t know anything about the console itself. The biggest questions are obviously: “What games will be able to play on it?”, “When is it releasing?”, and “How much will it cost?”. Unfortunately, Nintendo has already confirmed that nothing more would be announced this year.

And today, during a meeting with investors, Tatsumi Kimishima announced that “major details” about the Nintendo Switch would be revealed during the Nintendo Switch Presentation 2017, which will be streamed live globally on January 12th (North America) / January 13th (Japan) / January 13th (Europe).

Since Nintendo is inviting “media, financial analysts and trade partners in Tokyo” for this presentation (taking place at the Tokyo Big Sight), we can safely assume it will be any time between 9AM and 4PM JST (1AM to 8AM CET / 12AM to 7AM BST / 7PM to 2AM ET / 4PM to 11PM PT), and not at odd hours like Nintendo Direct presentation (often streamed live at 11PM JST).

The exact time will be announced via social media in the upcoming weeks (including the brand new Facebook page).

During this Nintendo Switch Presentation 2017, Nintendo will give us a look at games currently in development for the platform, and will also reveal the launch date and pricing.

But that’s not all: in the days/weeks following the presentation, there will be “sampling events” for invited media, partners, and consumers in the United States and Europe. That will be an opportunity for the press and players to try out the console several weeks before its release.

There will be one such event on January 14th and January 15th at the Tokyo Big Sight in Japan. More details about that event will be announced at a later date.

The Nintendo Switch will be launched in March 2017, worldwide.

Source: Nintendo (1 / 2)


twitterredditmail

Lite_Agent

Founder and main writer for Perfectly Nintendo. Tried really hard to find something funny and witty to put here, but had to admit defeat. Also known as Maintenance Guy by some. Twitter: @lite_agent

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.